It’s really hard for me to blog when I don’t feel good – physically, emotionally, and spiritually. I just had another round of “bad” blood tests, so I’m going to just crack down and start working on getting myself better! The Lord already told us how in the word of wisdom. I just need to have the wisdom, courage, and FAITH to believe!
Julia and I were sick last week – really sick! In one week I had eaten a grand total of 6 bananas, 7 32-oz. Gatorades, 7 32-oz. water battles, and four pieces of salmon - - and I gained SIX pounds!
The low-carb diets really work for me – but I can’t have the fat and need the good carbs. When we did the Adkins I lost an average of 5 pounds a week, with a total loss of 50 pounds, but my liver took a nose dive! In the last two years I’ve gained the entire 50 back again - - So - – South Beach Diet, here we come! It's structured and forces me to eat regularly, plus also it’s a life-style and not just another diet!
I’m seriously toying with the concept of actually putting my daily weigh-ins on my blog, but I’m just not that brave yet. Eventually I will, but not just yet. I’m about ONE HUNDRED POUNDS overweight right now and am extremely embarrassed about that fact! I remember the first time I hit the 200 pound mark – I was absolutely devastated! All fat jokes start out with, “Did you hear the one about the 200-pound man who…” Yeah, well I was a 200-pound woman! Oh, what I wouldn’t give to be 200 pounds right now!
For lunch today I was supposed to have "California Roll-Ups" which is basically a lettuce roll-up with a piece of ham AND a piece of turkey. (Did you know they sell a roll-up "kit" at Sam's that is nothing but pieces of meat, some rice, and about 4 lettuce leaves - it's about the size of a lunchable and costs $8!!!) Anyway, you can put a little low-fat, low-sugar dressing on the lettuce before you roll it. You are supposed to eat F-O-U-R roll-ups. YIKES. I barely got two down and half way through the third the first two felt like they were gonna come back up! I didn't even make the fourth!
Basically, I'll have to eat six times a day on this diet - so that will be my biggest challenge. That, and the dairy limitations! I am probably THE worst meal skipper EVER! I was SO proud of myself this morning! I had a scrambled egg w/onions, peppers, and ham AND a V-8 juice for breakfast – well, half a V-8 juice can. I’d forgotten I’d already opened the can BEFORE I started to shake it up! It took me TWO hours to eat it all and I thought I'd burst a lung - - then I skipped the am snack. BAD, BAD girl!!! NO SKIPPING!!! I'm full, but I'm not bloating up like a dead COW - like I have been after I eat.
All I'm thinking about is Food, Food, Food - only for me it's what I SHOULD be eating, instead of the usual dieters dilemma of "what can I eat - I'm so hungry!" I am Sooooooo Stuffed!!! I also didn't do the exercises yet, either. I'm going through some med changes and I feel like a zombie in the morning, but I felt GREAT last night! Go figure! If I feel good tonight, I'm gonna go for a 20 min. walk with Julia.
Instead of the peanut butter dessert thingy on the plan, I just used my 2 tbsp. of natural peanut butter on celery sticks during the day whenever I felt snacky. I never realized how many sticks you could eat with a total of only 2 tbsp. of peanut butter! I had eaten an entire thing of celery by the end of the day! BTW - What do you call an "entire thing of celery" anyway!?!?!? Individual pieces are stalks, but what's the whole thing called?
I'm gonna go and get some canned beans and make up some of the soups and chili's in the recipe section. They are mostly veggies and tomatoes and James and I both love those. You can use extra-lean ground beef, so I might get some of that and put it in the chili. I'll make up my own beans for next week when I feel a little better. I need to learn how to can my own beans with my pressure/canner!
It's hard to find low-fat AND low-sugar dressings. None of the ones I have in my frig qualified. Mine were one or the other, but not both - so I'll have to go look for some. The book has two pages of recipes just for dressings, so I'll try some of those, but for right now I'll probably go to Sprouts first and see what they have.
Jamee's going to do this with us, but she's been at Annette's for the past three days. Annette's husband has been out of town. Poor Jamee!!! I don't have my cell phone anymore and she got stuck with a broken down car yesterday in Katie’s neighborhood. We both got home about the same time and her face was beat red! I told her she was a SILLY girl, because she could have called HALF of my ward and they would have come to give her a ride home. She said she wasn't that far and would have walked, but she didn't want to leave her car. It was just SO HOT yesterday!
So – here’s to a VERY supportive husband and daughter who are willing to make this journey with me; here’s to healthy weight loss; here’s to good health in general; and here’s to having the FAITH it takes to follow the Lord’s plan and the ability to move mountains!
(Hey! I’m not that big, yet – Close, but not yet!)
08 May 2009
I'm going to the Beach - the South Beach that is!
Labels:
eating disorderly,
south beach,
weight loss
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
I am sure you are going to do great. I need to get back on my program again and lose what I have gained back, sadly too much. Good luck to you.
ReplyDeleteBTW, canning beans is the easiest way to use beans. You are only a jar away from refried beans or chilli, etc., whenever the need strikes. I do have a recipe for them if you do not already have one. If your beans are old, usually you can get them nice and soft by soaking them and then pressure canning them. I say usually because my last batch didn't every really soften up like they needed to.
Good luck to you.