02 October 2012

10/02/2012


Sooo, I went upstairs to take a cat nap.  Those 6 a.m. wakeup calls to go to the gym with Jamee are killing me… not that I actually GO to the gym at that unholy hour every morning, but being the dutiful daughter she is, she keeps trying… 

Anyways, I was dreaming the 3 of us girls were on vacation in New York City.  We had gone to a “Chinese/Seafood” restaurant, whereupon I ordered Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas … go figure.

Then we waited... and waited… and waited.    Forty minutes later, with still no sign of our food I finally managed to flag down our waitress, who said she’d “check on it.” 

She comes back and tells us, in a very thick Southern accent accompanied by a huge wad of chewing gum, that “your order got lost somewhere” and “the kitchen was closing” and “did we still want our food?” 

Um … “Yes, if your kitchen is closing, then so will all the others and we ARE hungry… “

So she huffs away and we wait another 20 minutes.  Our food finally arrives, but by then I’ve had two full glasses of water and need to make a trip to the lady’s room, at which point Jamee gets an important phone call and goes out to the lobby to take the call.  Well, Julia isn’t going to sit at the table all alone, so she follows me into the bathroom.  All three of us reenter the dining area at the same time, only to discover the bus boy wiping off our table… 

“Um…Where’s Our Food?”  He, of course, doesn’t speak English… Not sure what language a person working in a Chinese/Seafood/Mexican restaurant would speak, but he signals the waitress. 

I explain to her that our food is gone.  She says she’ll check with the manager. 

She comes back very distraught and says, “The manager said if you don’t pay for your food it’ll have to come out of my paycheck.” 

“Well, I’m sorry,” I explain to her, “But I’m not paying for food that I didn’t even get the chance to eat.”   

She says I’ll have to talk to the manager. 

He says I’ll have to pay for the food or he will call the cops. 

Now, those of you who know me well know that I can’t talk without accompanying hand and arm gestures…  I may look like I’m using some form of ASL, but that’s just the way I talk…

So, there I am in the lobby of this restaurant, arguing with the manager over whether or not I’m paying for food I didn’t eat, waiting for the cops to arrive, attempting to modulate the tone and volume of my voice (I don’t know why that was important to me), all the while waving my arms around like some maniacal windmill, so much so that I woke myself up from my nap… Still SO mad about not getting my dinner, that I couldn’t even go back to sleep!   

And my kids wonder why “Mom gets so cranky” when she tries to take an afternoon siesta!  : ) 

No comments:

Post a Comment